Forum

Discuss everything South Park with fans from around the world!

Page 1 of 1 8 posts
Crippled Summer - Tough Decision PostTue Apr 27, 2010 9:24 pm Offline
Tue Apr 27, 2010 8:43 pm1
Matt and Trey - I'm a fan of the show, like everyone else here, and like most people, have followed it whenever possible. Unfortunately, I'm stuck between a rock and hard place.

By watching the newest episode, I would be sending a message to the advertisers that I'm alright with what Comedy Central did to "201". I'm a military vet with more than a decade of service and a journalist. I'm also a full-time college student majoring in sociology... I can't turn a blind eye toward blatant disregard for American freedom of expression.

Despite the fact that censorship of your show came from a private corporation, it still goes against what I served for and what I believe it. We vets are often quoted thusly: "I may not agree with what you say, but I'll fight to the death for your right to say it." There are thousands of families who have given over the lives of their sons and daughters in Iraq and Afghanistan for your right to broadcast satire and social commentary in this country.

Comedy Central didn't just burn you, they burned their audience and everyone who has ever worn a uniform.

I can not, in good conscience, watch tomorrow night. I wanted to leave this post to apologize personally to you for it. I believe in your show and I see through the coarse and disgusting humor to the reflection and substance you smuggle inside it.

Despite the accidental nature of it, you two are American heroes. I wish you all the best and will continue to ask Comedy Central to re-air (uncensored) "201" to make up for the hurt it caused to me and those who fought, and continue to fight, for a free and open dialog.

All the best,
Jeremy Johnson
Re: Crippled Summer - Tough Decision PostWed Apr 28, 2010 5:04 pm Offline
Mon Aug 15, 2005 3:49 am253Machias, washington